facebook        twitter        youtube
Webster schools - click for home
Compassionately Connected, Joyfully Engaged, Always Learning

WCSD Seniors Named National Merit Scholarship® Semifinalists and Commended Students

Webster Central School District is please d to announce that two Webster Schroeder High School seniors, Daniel Ye and Selena Zhang, have been honored as 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists.
Daniel Ye
Selena Zhang

These academically talented Webster CSD seniors were among 16,000 Semifinalists named by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Ye and Zhang now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered in spring 2018.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Webster CSD also congratulates nine additional seniors that have been named Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). A Letter of Commendation from Webster Schroeder and Webster Thomas high schools and National Merit Scholarship Corporation has been presented to these scholastically talented seniors:
  • Viknesh Baskar – Webster Schroeder High School
  • Taran Bauer - Webster Schroeder High School
  • Cole Easton - Webster Schroeder High School
  • Henry Edmondson - Webster Schroeder High School
  • Caitlin Glastonbury - Webster Schroeder High School
  • Connor Manley – Webster Thomas High School
  • Kyle Mueller - Webster Schroeder High School
  • Krystina Szylo - Webster Schroeder High School
  • Kevin Thompson - Webster Schroeder High School
 Congratulations to all!
This page is maintained by district communication specialists and the director of educational technology and information according to the web publishing guidelines of Webster Central School District. If you are unable to access or use any aspect of our site, please email our district webmaster so that we may provide you with alternative means of access or use. The district is not responsible for facts or opinions contained on any linked site. Webster Central School District WEBaccessibilityguidelines site contains information regarding accessibility and complaints.